Skip to content
search button

Call us at
01768 217734

Cumbria Police
Contact Information
Cumbria Police
Contact Information
For police emergencies call 999
Report a crime online
For non emergencies call 101 - if unable to report online

County’s Finest Community Champions Recognised for their Outstanding Work

Volunteers and professionals from all over the county were celebrated for their outstanding work in keeping their local communities safe. The awards were hosted by Cumbria’s Police and Crime Commissioner, Peter McCall, at Penrith Rugby Club on Friday 31 January.

The ceremony celebrated Cumbrians of all ages who have worked tirelessly to better their communities from litter picking, hosting clubs for vulnerable people, to a team providing a safe place for vulnerable women to talk about their experiences and gain skills.

All attendees received awards from one of six categories with an overall winner being names in the ‘Commissioner’s Annual Award’. Individuals and teams were recognised for their dedication to their community.

Police and Crime Commissioner, Peter McCall, said: ““Preventing Crime and keeping the county safe has to be a joint endeavour by the public and the police. Working together we can make Cumbria a safer place and these awards are a n opportunity to celebrate and recognise those who put themselves out to embody this and work to support their communities.

“I’m so glad that some of the volunteers and professionals who work to keep their communities safe were able to come along and celebrate their achievements tonight and really show off what they’ve done.

“They all do a fantastic job and they deserve the recognition for all their hard work- well done to all the winners. I know you’ll continue to keep Cumbria a safe place to live and work.”

The overall winners were:

–  Outstanding Community Project Award

–  North Winner – Triple A Project

–  South Winner – The Egerton Court Partners

–  West Winner – Copeland Local Focus Hub Partners

–  Safer Super Hero Award (under 18 only)

–  South – Amy Prophet

–  West – Leon Louden

–  Community Safety Hero Award

–  South – PCSO Phil Sullivan

–  West – Lee Cartner

–  Heart of the Community Award

–  North – Carlisle Retailers Against Crime

–  South – William Leece

–  West – ENTRA (Ewanrigg & Netherton Tennants & Residents Association)

–  Above and Beyond Award

–  North – Cumbria Constabulary Dog Section

–  South – Team Ormsgill

–  West – Egremont Youth Partnership

–  Special Award for Outstanding Performance

–  Gateway 4 Women

–  Rachel Holliday

–  Carl Fallowfield, Cumbria Crack

–  The Commissioner’s Annual Award – Runner Up

–       Egremont Youth Partnership

–  The Commissioner’s Annual Award – First Place

–  ENTRA (Ewanrigg & Netherton Tennants & Residents Association)




< More Latest News

Sign up to our newsletter

Cumbria Together Cumbria Together
The Bridgeway The Bridgeway
Cumbria Constabulary Cumbria Constabulary
Cumbria Police And Crime Panel Cumbria Police And Crime Panel
Association of Police and Crime Commissioners Association of Police and Crime Commissioners