Skip to content
search button

Call us at
01768 217734

Cumbria Police
Contact Information
Cumbria Police
Contact Information
For police emergencies call 999
Report a crime online
For non emergencies call 101 - if unable to report online

PCC Supports Safer Internet Day

Cumbria’s Police and Crime Commissioner Peter McCall is today supporting Safer Internet day.

Safer Internet Day 2017 will be celebrated globally on Tuesday 7th February with the slogan ‘Be the change: Unite for a better internet’.  The aim of the day is to promote positive, safer and more responsible use of online technology and mobile phones, especially amongst children and young people.

Peter McCall said: “Nowadays the internet plays a significant part in everyday life for so many people, including our younger people for whom social networking is very often the communication method of choice.

“One of the priorities in my Police and Crime Plan is to work with the community, the Police and partner agencies to help members of the public to be aware of the risk of online crimes and keep themselves safe. As part of this, we delivered last year a theatre production aimed at raising awareness of child sexual exploitation through grooming online, especially in the context of social media use.

“Anything we can do to highlight the risks and promote safer use of the internet is to be welcomed – we all need to do our bit to raise awareness of the dangers.”

For further advice, Cumbria Constabulary Advice Centre can be accessed via the below website:

Information is provided around ‘Crime Prevention’ Business Advice, Fraud and Finance Security. ‘Online/Computer Safety’ including Social Media, Protecting Children, Online Shopping, Sexting Issues, Cyber Bullying, etc.

< More Latest News

Sign up to our newsletter

Cumbria Together Cumbria Together
The Bridgeway The Bridgeway
Cumbria Constabulary Cumbria Constabulary
Cumbria Police And Crime Panel Cumbria Police And Crime Panel
Association of Police and Crime Commissioners Association of Police and Crime Commissioners